Pulseaudio lives upto the expectations..

After months of naughtiness, Pulseaudio seems to settling in nicely in Karmic Beta. Everything stable, no glitches, twitches, CPU usages back to depths of lowness :)

Always knew pulseaudio has network access possible. Always wondered to be able to do it. Finally I have two laptops to try all those twosome things. And I did.

First I connected them using synergy(mouse/keyboard). Using SFTP to use them as file servers and pulseaudio as my audio servers.

Now the situation is, I have kept one laptop in that corner there. Its supposed to be my process intensive server. Its supposed to run my music, download stuff for me, check my mails – sound horns when they arrive and be busy and burn in hell in that corner. And it runs KDE. Now my powerful speakers (donated by a dear friend after he moved to US), remain connected to this busy bee. Well they sound like thunder, they are Altec Lansing MX5021.

What pulseaudio allowed me to do is, broadcast or redirect by audio from my mobile laptop to my server laptop. So while I want to play movies, I don’t need to get that speaker wire sorted out from the tangly world of wires. All is done by a mouse click. :)

Pulseaudio delivers and I have a smile.

Just for a quick start -
– Install paman (pulseaudio device manager) from Synaptic and run PulseAudio Device Chooser from Application -> Sound & Video.
– On the device chooser click Configure Local Sound Server, Make sure your sound server is discoverable in first 2 tabs. I even by passed authentication.

Do that on all the machines in the LAN. Done.

Now you can simple send your sound to any machine, by simply selecting “Default Sink” to whichever machine you want.

Done. Sound starts playing in the remote machine. You can have your smile:) The best part is I can choose which application plays where. I can decide that this music plays there, this youtube plays locally here on my box and this alarm application sounds in the machine there in other room. You know where I am going with this. Bring out your Vista or Windows 7 or Windows 8 and do this for me. Oh wait, they got a new feature to sell Windows 7 Supreme.

Cost for all this – Around 200KB/s more wireless data flowing around me… Now only if I could get this charging wire off me, but I heard even that’s coming:)

One Response to “Pulseaudio lives upto the expectations..”

  1. Ravindra Says:

    Pulse audio + Skype CPU hogger! uses up to 50% of my CPU..
    Any suggestions?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

